Texas Nanotech Ventures logo
Home About Us Portfolio Investors News Contact Us
TNT logo
about us


what is nanotechnology?

strategic advisory board
industry relationships

Strategic Advisory Board

Kelly Kordzik, J.D.
Chairman, Strategic Advisory Board

Mr. Kordzik holds a B.S.E.E from Texas A&M University, an M.B.A from the University of Houston and a J.D. from the University of Houston Law Center, and has served as President of the Texas Nanotechnology Initiative. Mr. Kordzik brings his nanotechnology expertise, academic achievements, patent prosecution, and intellectual property portfolio management knowledge to TNT Ventures as a Chairman of the Strategic Advisory Board. He is a Principal in the Austin office of Fish & Richardson P.C., and he is the Chair of the firm's Nanotechnology Practice Group. Read more >>

Sha-Chelle Devlin Manning, MBA

After holding leadership positions with Zyvex Corporation and Winstar Communications, and being a top consultant to the Office of Governor of Texas in leading the development of the Texas nanotechnology strategic plan and the $200 million Emerging Technology Fund, Ms. Manning is presently a Senior Business Development executive for Texas-based Authentix attracting over $100 million in research and commercialization investments for Texas. Read more >>

Timothy Imholt, Ph.D.

Senior Systems Engineer for Raytheon, Dr. Imholt focuses on defense related applications for nanotechnology. He holds a Ph.D. in physics from The University of Texas and has published in numerous scientific journals and holds over 20 patents, among them one related to alternative fuel application based on nanostructured materials. Read more >>

John Ullo, Ph.D.

Currently, Dr. Ullo is a Senior Management Advisor on future research initiatives at the new Schlumberger Doll Research Center in Cambridge, MA. Previously, he was Vice-President and General Manager of the Schlumberger Austin Technology Center, Director of Research for Reservoir Evaluation at Schlumberger Doll and Managing Director of Product Development for Seismic Processing and Evaluation at Schlumberger Geco-Prakla in the UK. He serves on advisory committees at Texas A&M, Northeastern University, Princeton University, Boston University, and is Schlumberger's Executive Ambassador to MIT. Read more >>

Walter Wade Adams, Ph.D.

Chairman of the Board for Texas Nanotechnology Initiative and Director of the Center for Nanoscale Science And Technology at Rice University, he is internationally known for his research in high-performance rigid-rod polymer fibers. He is distinguished for writing more than 190 publications and books and is a Fellow of the American Physical Society and holds a Ph.D. in polymer science and engineering from the University of Massachusetts. Read more >>

Malcolm Gillis, Ph.D.

A distinguished Fulbright Professor, Dr. Gillis is President of Rice University and taught for 15 years at Harvard University, Dr. Gillis is highly acclaimed in the fields of economics, public policy, and environmental policy. His Ph.D. was award from the University of Illinois. He has served as Director of the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas and Houston and is currently Chair of the Tax Committee of the Association of American Universities. Read more >>

Theresa W. Fossum, Ph.D.

Recently appointed Director of the Texas Institute for Preclinical Studies at Texas A&M University, Dr. Fossum sits on the Board of Directors of the National Space Biomedical Research Institute and is a member of the Board of Governors for the Foundation for Biomedical Research. She is nationally recognized for her many years of service to science, research and is world renowned surgeon and serves as the Director for Cardiothoracic surgery and Biomedical Devices in the Michael E. DeBakey Institute at TAMU. Read more >>

Howard, K. Schmidt, Ph.D.

Serving as the Executive Director of the Carbon Nanotechnologies Laboratory at Rice University, Dr. Schmidt founded Schmidt Instruments, Inc, that received the R&D 100 Award from Research and Development Magazine and has participated in numerous successful technology start-ups. His Ph.D. in chemistry from Rice University began his prestigious career in carbon nanotechnology and single-wall carbon nanotubes. Read more >>

Ray H. Baughman, Ph.D.

Ray Baughman, Ph.D. holds the prestigious Robert A. Welch Professor of Chemistry Chair, as well as three honorary professorships in China. In 2001, he became the Director of the Nano Tech Institute at the University of Texas in Dallas. Ray holds 57 U.S. patents and is published worldwide in acclaimed scientific journals. Dr. Baughman was recenly awarded the 2007 Alumni Distinguished Achievement Award of Carnegie Mellon University, the Kapitza Medal of the Russian Academy of Natural Sciences, and the Chancellor's Entrepreneurship and Invention Award. Read more >>

Leonard Yowell, Ph.D.

As a nationally recognized expert in multi-functional properties of nanostuctured materials, in aeronautical engineering, in ceramic-nanotube composites and applications and in sol-gel processing, Dr. Yowell leads an engineering team in nanomaterials in Texas. Additionally, he has served in the US Navy in both active and reserve duty after receiving his doctorate from Rice University, his M.S. from Stanford University and his B.S. from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. Read more >>

Zvi Yaniv, Ph.D.
President and CEO Applied Nanotech, Inc.

In addition to being a leading authority in electro-optics and liquid crystal technology, Dr. Yaniv is acclaimed for his publications of over 100 articles, his numerous patents, and his distinguished contributions in scientific research and business in the United States, Europe, Israel and the Far East. Read more >>

Texas Nanotech Ventures. Site designed by Alliance Consulting.